When the police pull you over for a DWI in New York, you may not be as worried about the charges or the record that you are facing, but instead how much it will cost you to recover. DUI and DWI charges are not inexpensive, and it can cause grief to many individuals. How much will a first offense conviction cost, and what all will you need to pay for?
When a judge convicts you of a first-offense DWI, they may charge you a fine of $300-$500, but you may need to also pay an annual driver responsibility assessment fine, which you pay to the DMV over three years. The minimum annual amount is $250, resulting in a total of $750 in fines over three years.
First offenders of driving while intoxicated must attend educational reform classes, called New York’s Drinking Driver Program. This class meets every week, and costs $75 to sign up and up to $234 additionally, depending on the situation.
Depending on your case, you may be planning to go to court and fight your case. This can be expensive as well, as you will be hiring an attorney as well as paying court fees. Simply submitting a guilty plea can be costly.
Your license will be suspended or revoked for a minimum of six months. After this period, in order to get your license restored, you must have paid your fines, jail time, driver program. You may need to pay a suspension termination fee, which is $25.
During the time that you do not have your license, you will likely need to find additional transportation to and from work, as well as anywhere else you will need to go.
When your insurance company is notified of a DWI for their insured, they will automatically raise the premium, depending on what type of risk the insured poses. Typically, if you are convicted of a DUI, insurance companies view you as a high risk individual, which can significantly increase the cost of insurance.